INTRANAV VIRTUAL Warehouse - eCommerce Logistic

eCommerce warehouse optimization through automatic goods posting and control

08.10.2020

eCommerce warehouse optimization through automatic goods posting and control

The digitalization of logistics is increasing rapidly, the advantages are obvious. The numerous added values such as error avoidance, time savings and forecasts for better planning are also proven and potential can be leveraged piece by piece.

A concrete example of this is the use of the INTRANAV multi-technology platform at a medium-sized logistics company in Hesse that handles international logistics for various online retailers and brands. The company has its finger on the pulse of the times, has recognized the added value of digitization, and relies on the flexibility and process reliability it provides. Employee fluctuations, booking errors, process changes, or even pandemics are some of the disruptive factors that can be compensated by modern digitization solutions.

The logistics company already relies on a modern ERP system from SAP (SAP Business One), operated on the Google Cloud, which makes the implementation of the INTRANAV.IO IoT platform very easy.

Challenges of our customers in the warehouse

  • 1

    Goods receipts should be automatically checked and booked

    Not every piece of goods should have to be scanned individually, but only the cartons in which the individual pieces of goods are transported into the department store. The goods content must be recognized and booked in the SAP ERP system with reference to the carton.

  • 2

    Automatic completeness check of incoming goods

    The cardboard boxes must be reliably checked for completeness in the inspection area without manual inspection.

  • 3

    Loading of unmixed packages on pallets without manual scanning

    Individual packages are to be automatically recorded in the SAP ERP system as a package group, and at the same time it must be recognized where the package and forklift truck are located in real-time.

INTRANAV Solution

The challenge was to provide the goods coming from Asia with an RFID label so that incoming goods could be automatically checked and booked directly in the warehouse using RFID gates. Individual items are not tagged with an RFID TAG, but rather the cartons. By linking the NVE (number of the shipping unit) and carton number to the RFID TAG UID (Unique Identifier), a consistent number range is created, which creates the reference of the goods content to the RFID label.


The goods are delivered to the bridge and unloaded into the goods receiving area. In this process, the RFID gates recognize the cardboard boxes and check the delivery for completeness. In the next step, the unmixed packages are loaded onto the pallet. In this process, the scanning step has already been eliminated thanks to the Auto-ID technology. The finished package composites are also transferred to the ERP system as a virtual package composite. The INTRANAV.IO platform uses real-time data to generate the digital twin of the booking and warehouse processes. The data of the parcel network is then transmitted to the SAP Business One ERP system via INTRANAV.IO interfaces.


An interplay – optimization of the eCommerce warehouse process through automatic goods posting and control


The optimization does not stop at this point. Thanks to the centimeter-precise location and storage location identification, barcode scanning is now also no longer necessary when storing and retrieving the bundle in the high-bay warehouse system. The intelligent INTRANAV UWB VehicleTAG with external RFID sensors recognizes the package group as well as the storage location and posts them automatically and in real-time as “goods posting”.

Thanks to integrated fleet optimization, industrial trucks such as forklifts, ants, pallet conveyors are used in an optimized way. A compact and clear display shows, similar to a navigation system, the fastest and safest route to the destination. An OEE (Overall Equipment Efficiency) display also indicates optimization potential in the warehouse. The integrated collision warning also warns of dangerous situations and congestion.


This RTLS case was implemented for our customer TB International GmbH

The successful wholesaler TB International GmbH, with up to 15 textile and accessories brands selling its streetwear to more than 15,000 retailers worldwide, ensures its long-term competitive advantage by applying the latest INTRANAV Virtual Warehouse solution.

From goods receipt to shipping, TBInt. tracks and controls its intralogistics processes with the digitized forklift fleet powered by INTRANAV.RTLS VehicleTAGs+, based on a multi-RTLS layer with UWB and RFID technology. RFID sensors on the forklift enable the transport of pallets without scanning through all logistics zones on the shopfloor, including storage and retrieval to the RFID shelves. This eliminates manual steps, such as barcode scanning, and replaces them with AutoID – all done by the forklift!

Automatic order pool processing is controlled by a central system – the INTRANAV “Transport Pool”. This ensures process reliability, time-efficient transport orders, and vehicle orchestration. With the forklift cockpit “Transport Driver”, INTRANAV facilitates and accelerates order processing by indicating available transport jobs nearby the drivers.

Furthermore, the INTRANAV.IO platform APPs support employees with indications on how to load single-sorted pallets in order to avoid incorrect bookings and packing errors. Also, using events based on current location information and product identification, TBInt. ensures intelligent control of its processes, e.g. automatic initiation of transport orders by linking to SAP, creation of delivery slips, or the initiation of pick-up orders.

Request your use case

INTRANAV Benefits for eCommerce Logistic

    1. Automatic incoming goods inspection and booking of the entire carton using RFID gates 

      With the INTRANAV Warehouse “package compound” solution, an RFID label, a so-called RFID-TAG UID (Unique Identifier) and a consistent number range can be generated on the cardboard box. This generates the reference of the goods content to the RFID label, which is automatically posted in the SAP ERP system by INTRANAV real-time data.

    2. Significant reduction of scanning processes through Auto-ID technology
      With the transport of the entire incoming goods cartons through RFID gates, the INTRANAV.IO IoT platform, coupled with SAP ERP, recognizes to what extent the delivery is complete and automatically posts it. Single-variety packages can thus be automatically recorded and booked. Individual, manual scanning processes are no longer necessary, which saves a lot of time. Thanks to the centimeter-precise location and storage location identification, barcode scanning is also no longer necessary when storing and retrieving the bundle in the high-bay warehouse system. This is because the intelligent INTRANAV UWB VehicleTAG with external RFID sensors recognizes the parcel compound as well as the storage location and posts them automatically and in real-time as “goods posting”.
    3. Booking of finished package connections as “virtual package connection
      The INTRANAV.IO platform uses real-time data to generate the digital twin of the posting and warehouse processes. The data of the parcel network is then transmitted to the SAP Business One ERP system via INTRANAV.IO interfaces.

    4. Transport flow optimization of the fleet by displaying the fastest and safest route
      A compact and clear display shows, similar to a navigation system, the fastest and safest route to your destination.
    5. OEE (Overall Equipment Efficiency) proposals via the INTRANAV.IO
      An OEE (Overall Equipment Efficiency) display also indicates optimization potential in the warehouse.
    6. Collision warning system
      The integrated collision warning system also warns of dangerous situations and dust formation.




Our INTRANAV Warehouse Solution is also interesting for you as a logistician. Contact us today to talk about optimization possibilities for your warehouse and logistics workflows!

Beiträge die sie auch interessieren könnten

Sie wollen wissen, wie Sie mit Echtzeitortung Ihre Prozesse effizienter gestalten können?

Unser INTRANAV Expertenteam berät Sie gerne mit umfassendem Prozess- Know-how aus der RTLS Welt!.

INTRANAV VIRTUAL Warehouse – eCommerce Logistic

Digitization Success Story

08.10.2020

eCommerce Warenlager Optimierung durch automatische Warenverbuchung und Kontrolle


Die Digitalisierung der Logistik nimmt rasant zu, die Vorteile liegen auf der Hand. Die zahlreichen Mehrwerte wie Fehlervermeidung, Zeiteinsparung und Prognosen zur besseren Planung sind ebenfalls erwiesen und Potentiale können Stück für Stück gehebelt werden. Ein konkretes Beispiel hierfür ist der Einsatz der INTRANAV Multi-Technologieplattform, bei einem mittelständischen Logistikunternehmen in Hessen, das für diverse Online-Händler und Marken die internationale Logistik übernimmt.

Das Unternehmen ist nah am Puls der Zeit, hat den Mehrwert der Digitalisierung erkannt und setzt auf die dadurch gewonnene Flexibilität und Prozesssicherheit. Mitarbeiterschwankungen, Buchungsfehler, Prozessänderungen oder auch Pandemien sind einige der Störgrößen, die durch moderne Digitalisierungslösungen ausgeglichen werden können.

Der Logistiker setzt bereits auf ein modernes ERP System aus dem Hause SAP (SAP Business One), betrieben auf der Google Cloud, was die Implementierung der INTRANAV.IO IoT Plattform denkbar einfach gestaltet.


Herausforderung im Warenlager unseres Kunden

  • 1

    Wareneingänge sollen automatisch geprüft und verbucht werden

    Hierbei soll nicht jedes Warenstück einzeln eingescannt werden müssen, sondern nur die Kartons in denen die einzelnen Warenstücke in das Warenhaus transportiert werden. Der Wareninhalt muss dabei im SAP ERP System mit Bezug zur Kartonage erkannt und verbucht werden.

  • 2

    Automatische Prüfung des Wareneinganges auf Vollständigkeit

    Die Kartonagen müssen im Kontrolleingangsbereich ohne manuelle Kontrolle zuverlässig auf Vollständigkeit geprüft werden.

  • 3

    Verladung sortenreiner Pakete auf Paletten ohne manuellen Scanvorgang

    Einzelne Pakete sollen als Paketverbund automatisch im SAP ERP System erfasst werden, zudem muss gleichzeitig erkannt werden, wo sich Paket und Gabelstapler in Echtzeit aufhalten.

INTRANAV Lösung

Die Herausforderung war es, die aus dem asiatischen Raum kommende Ware mit einem RFID Label zu versehen, so dass mittels RFID Gates Wareneineingänge direkt im Lager automatisch geprüft und verbucht werden konnten. Einzelstücke werden nicht mit einem RFID-TAG versehen, sondern die Kartons. Durch die Verknüpfung der NVE (Nummer der Versandeinheit) und Kartonagennummer zu der RFID-TAG UID (Unique Identifier) wird ein konsistenter Nummernkreis erzeugt, welcher den Bezug Wareninhalt zum RFID Label erzeugt.


Die Waren werden zur Brücke angeliefert und in den Wareneingangsbereich entladen. In diesem Prozess erkennen die RFID Gates die Kartonagen und prüfen die Lieferung auf Vollständigkeit. Im nächsten Schritt werden die sortenreinen Pakete auf die Palette verladen. In diesem Prozess wurde dank der Auto-ID Technologie bereits der Scanschritt eliminiert. Die fertigen Paketverbunde werden ebenfalls als virtueller Paketverbund in das ERP-System übermittelt. Die INTRANAV.IO Plattform generiert hierbei durch die Echtzeitdaten den Digitalen Zwilling der Verbuchungs- und Lagerprozesse. Die Daten des Paketverbundes werden dann über INTRANAV.IO Schnittstellen an das SAP Business One ERP System übermittelt.


Ein Zusammenspiel – Optimierung des eCommerce Warenlager-Prozesses durch automatische Warenverbuchung und Kontrolle


Die Optimierung hört an dieser Stelle nicht auf. Dank der zentimetergenauen Ortung und Stellplatzidentifikation, entfällt das Barcode-Scannen nun auch beim Ein- und Auslagern des Paketverbundes im Hochregallagersystem. Der intelligente INTRANAV UWB VehicleTAG mit externen RFID Sensoren erkennt den Paketverbund sowie den Stellplatz und verbucht diese automatisch und in Real-Time als „Warenverbuchung“.

Dank integrierter Fleet-Optimierung werden die Flurförderzeuge wie Gabelstapler, Ameisen, Palettenförderer optimiert eingesetzt. Eine kompakte und übersichtliche Anzeige zeigt, ähnlich wie beim Navigationssystem die schnellste und sicherste Route zum Zielplatz an.  Eine OEE (Overall-Equipment-Efficiency) Anzeige weist zudem auf Optimierungspotentiale im Warehouse hin. Die integrierte Kollisionswarnung warnt ebenfalls vor gefährlichen Situationen und Staubildungen.


Dieser RTLS Case wurde bei unserem Kunden
TB. International GmbH umgesetzt

„Der erfolgreiche Großhändler TB International GmbH, der mit bis zu 15 Textil- und Accessoire-Marken seine Streetwear an mehr als 15.000 Einzelhändler weltweit vertreibt, sichert sich seinen langfristigen Wettbewerbsvorteil durch den Einsatz der neuesten INTRANAV Virtual Warehouse Lösung.

Vom Wareneingang bis zum Versand verfolgt und steuert TBInt. seine intralogistischen Prozesse mit der digitalisierten Gabelstaplerflotte, die mit INTRANAV.RTLS VehicleTAGs+ ausgestattet ist, basierend auf einem Multi-RTLS-Layer mit UWB- und RFID-Technologie. RFID-Sensoren am Gabelstapler ermöglichen den Transport von Paletten ohne Scannen durch alle Logistikzonen auf dem Shopfloor, inklusive Ein- und Auslagerung in die RFID-Regale. Dadurch entfallen manuelle Arbeitsschritte, wie z.B. das Scannen von Barcodes, diese werden durch AutoID ersetzt – alles wird vom Gabelstapler erledigt!

Die automatische Auftragspoolabwicklung wird durch ein zentrales System – den INTRANAV „Transportpool“ – gesteuert. Das sorgt für Prozesssicherheit, zeiteffiziente Transportaufträge und die Orchestrierung der Fahrzeuge. Mit dem Stapler-Cockpit „Transport Driver“ erleichtert und beschleunigt INTRANAV die Auftragsabwicklung, indem es den Fahrern verfügbare Transportaufträge in ihrer Nähe anzeigt.

Darüber hinaus unterstützen die APPs der INTRANAV.IO-Plattform die Mitarbeiter mit Hinweisen zur Beladung von sortenreinen Paletten, um Fehlbuchungen und Packfehler zu vermeiden. Mit Hilfe von Ereignissen, die auf aktuellen Standortinformationen und der Produktidentifikation basieren, sorgt TBInt. zudem für eine intelligente Steuerung seiner Prozesse, z.B. beim automatischen Auslösen von Transportaufträgen durch die Verknüpfung mit SAP, die Erstellung von Lieferscheinen oder das Auslösen von Abholaufträgen.“

Ihren Use Case anfragen

INTRANAV Benefits für eCommerce Logistic

  1. Automatische Wareneingangsprüfung und Verbuchung der gesamten Kartonage mittels RFID Gates
    Mit der INTRANAV Warehouse „Paketverbund“ Solution kann an der Kartonage über ein RFID Label, eine sog. RFID-TAG UID (Unique Identifier) und ein konsistenter Nummernkreis generiert werden, welcher den Bezug des Wareninhaltes
    zum RFID Label erzeugt, der im SAP ERP System automatisch durch INTRANAV Real-Time Data verbucht wird.
  2. Deutliche Reduzierung von Scanvorgängen durch Auto-ID Technologie
    Mit dem Transport der gesamten Wareneingangs-Kartonagen durch RFID Gates, erkennt die INTRANAV.IO IoT Plattform in Kopplung durch SAP ERP, inwieweit die Lieferung
    vollständig ist und verbucht diese automatisch. Sortenreine Pakete können somit automatisch erfasst und verbucht werden. Einzelne, manuelle Scan-Vorgänge entfallen somit, wodurch deutlich an Zeit gespart werden kann. Dank der zentimetergenauen
    Ortung und Stellplatzidentifikation, entfällt das Barcode-Scannen auch beim Ein- und Auslagern des Paketverbundes im Hochregallagersystem. Denn der intelligente INTRANAV UWB VehicleTAG mit externen RFID Sensoren erkennt den Paketverbund
    sowie den Stellplatz und verbucht diese automatisch und in Real-Time als „Warenverbuchung“.
  3. Verbuchung von fertigen Paketverbunden als „virtueller Paketverbund“
    Die INTRANAV.IO
    Plattform generiert hierbei durch die Echtzeitdaten den Digitalen Zwilling der Verbuchungs- und Lagerprozesse. Die Daten des Paketverbundes werden dann über INTRANAV.IO Schnittstellen an das SAP Business One ERP system übermittelt.
  4. Transportfluss-Optimierung der Flotte durch Anzeige der schnellsten und sichersten Route Eine kompakte und übersichtliche Anzeige zeigt, ähnlich wie beim Navigationssystem die schnellste und sicherste Route zum Zielplatz an.
  5. OEE (Overall-Equipment-Efficiency) Vorschläge über die INTRANAV.IO
    Eine OEE (Overall-Equipment-Efficiency) Anzeige weist zudem auf Optimierungspotentiale im Warehouse hin.
  6. Kollisionswarn-System
    Die integrierte Kollisionswarnung warnt ebenfalls vor gefährlichen Situationen und Staubildungen.




Unsere INTRANAV Warehouse Solution ist auch für Sie, als Logistiker interessant, kontaktieren Sie uns, um bereits heute über Optimierungsmöglichkeiten Ihrer Warehouse und Logistik-Workflows zu sprechen!

Beiträge die sie auch interessieren könnten

Sie wollen wissen, wie Sie mit Echtzeitortung Ihre Prozesse effizienter gestalten können?

Unser INTRANAV Expertenteam berät Sie gerne mit umfassendem Prozess- Know-how aus der RTLS Welt!.