INTRANAV IoT Suite – Connectivity Technologies

Industry 4.0 network technology for the multi-stack INTRANAV IoT Platform Suite.

Equip Digital Twins with the right network technology standard for industrial IoT

Our real-time location IoT applications are as diverse as your requirements – accordingly, reliable network technologies are needed to enable tracking in critical location areas as well as for cases where only a short distance is sufficient. In outdoor areas such as yard, field, city or remote areas without power supply, it requires a technology that guarantees coverage over long distances and is battery powered at the same time. INTRANAV uses the best network for each real-time positioning application.


Industrial IoT connectivity network technologies
for the INTRANAV.IO Sensor & RTLS Device Hub


Large-scale connectivity networks:
A performance check

Scalable IIoT connectivity networks
for area-wide RTLS rollouts

The connectivity technologies listed by us are current standard in industrial track and trace. Each of these connectivity technologies can be integrated with the INTRANAV.IO Sensor & INTRANAV.RTLS Device Hub.

4G

  • 4G stands for the fourth-generation mobile communications standard that was introduced in 2014 with LTE Advanced and on which various international criteria have been agreed. 4G is a placeholder for International Mobile Telecommunications-Advanced.
  • LTE/LTE-A (Long Term Evolution – Advanced) is a “fourth generation” (4G) technology recognized by the ITU/ITU-R (At the ITU, two technologies have been recognized for the fourth generation of mobile communications, LTE-A and Wimax-A, see recommendation ITU-R M-2012). LTE/LTE-A operates according to the OFDM method (OFDM), thus the standard offers great flexibility and is very powerful.
  • Source: hwww.bundesnetzagentur.de
Read more

5G

  • The 5G standard promises more throughput, capacity and at the same time decreasing operating costs.
  • “Massive Internet of Things”: among other things, high number of end devices (e.g. with sensors) with as little complexity as possible.
  • There is also to be significant progress in latency, for which a value of 1ms (end-to-end) could be achieved under certain conditions (important for time-critical applications). Other aspects include, for example, improved energy efficiency or a higher number of terminals/km².
  • Source: https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/
Read more

LTE-M / LTE CAT-M

  • Long Term Evolution for Machines (LTE-M) is a new mobile communications technology that brings the Internet of Things to life. LTE-M scores particularly well precisely where somewhat higher data throughput and lower latency times are required.
  • LPWA (Low Power Wide Area) transmission technologies are the logical conclusion for many IoT applications, especially when building penetration, battery life of the IoT devices and, most importantly, cost play an important role. There are basically two standardized mobile technologies available for such IoT applications: NarrowBand IoT (NB-IoT) and LTE for Machine Type Communication (LTE-M).
  • Long battery life, Improved building penetration, Low device cost, Wide range of devices, Larger data volumes, Mobile applications.
  • Source: https://www.magenta.at
Read more

NB-IoT

  • NarrowBand IoT (NB-IoT) is a low-power wide-area (LPWA) technology with low energy requirements and high building penetration and coverage, providing a cost-effective solution for the narrowband Internet of Things. NB-IoT radio technology is one of the most promising innovations in the field of IoT communication.
  • For most IoT applications in the public and consumer sectors, the low bandwidth is perfectly sufficient. NarrowBand IoT also convinces with its reliable and optimal coverage.
  • Low cost & minimal overhead, 3GPP industry standard: 3rd generation, Deep building penetration, Long battery life & billions of terminals.
  • Smart parking solutions that can check whether a parking space is occupied and direct drivers to the nearest available space are particularly easy to implement with NB-IoT. Due to the high number of networked sensors, low costs and long battery runtimes, the technology is perfect for this.
  • Real-time data is not always needed. NB-IoT thus offers itself as a cost-effective solution for tracking containers, where an hourly report of the current location is sufficient.
  • Source: https://www.magenta.at
Read more

Sigfox

  • Sigfox is the initiator of the 0G network and the world’s leading IoT (Internet of Things) service provider. Sigfox’s global network makes it possible to easily connect billions of devices to the Internet while consuming as little energy as possible.
  • Low power for long battery runtimes
  • Low cost for mass use
  • Source: https://sigfox.de/
Read more

LoRa

  • LoRa is a wireless transmission method on the physical layer. It is asymmetric and designed for energy efficiency for ranges over 10 km for uplink communication (i.e. sending from the terminal to the network).
  • The LoRaWAN® specification is a Low Power, Wide Area (LPWA) networking protocol designed to wirelessly connect battery-powered “things” to the Internet on regional, national, or global networks, and targets key Internet of Things (IoT) requirements such as bidirectional communications, end-to-end security, mobility, and localization services.
  • IoT Applications: Agriculture, Buildings, Cities, Industry, Logistics and Utilities.
  • Source: https://lora-alliance.org und https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_Range_Wide_Area_Network
Read more

WiFi

  • A radio network based on the IEEE 802.11 standard that is compatible with other WiFi devices.
  • Source: https://www.wi-fi.org/
Read more

3G*

*Currently only as backup, shutdown expected in 2025.

  • The Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) is a third-generation (3G) mobile communications standard that enables significantly higher data transmission rates (up to 42 Mbit/s with HSPA+, otherwise max. 384 kbit/s) than the second-generation (2G) mobile communications standard, the GSM standard (up to 220 kbit/s with EDGE, otherwise max. 55 kbit/s with GPRS).
  • Source: www.wikipedia.org
Read more

2G*

*Currently only as backup, shutdown expected in 2025.

  • The GSM networks use a digital transmission method. Digital means that the location signal is converted into a logical sequence of numbers (zeros and ones) – similar to a computer.
  • The signals resulting from the digital positioning conversion are “packaged” into a high-frequency electromagnetic wave that serves as a transport medium from antenna to antenna.
  • Source: www.informationszentrum-mobilfunk.de
Read more

LTE-M is the leader, when it comes to high data throughput and lower latency times



Connectivity Technology News:

Wired
Smart Industry
The IoT Magazine
Informationszentrum Mobilfunk: Aktuelles aus dem Bereich Technik





INTRANAV.IO Multi-technolgy Stack Plattform: ONE Interface & ONE Service:

Use the INTRANAV.RTLS Suite or the OPEN IO DEVICE interface for third-party integration to collect real-time location and sensor data from various technologies:

• UWB, GPS, RFID, BLE, xMesh, LiDAR, LoRa, sigfox

 

INTRANAV.API interface for standards and applications:

• OPC-UA /AutoID, MQTT, REST, IDOC, GraphQL, Node-Red, Omlox, VDA5050, ISO/IEC 24730-1:2014, IP-Symcon, SPS, Telematik, Wirepas xMesh

Start digitizing your supply chain now!

  • Digital Twin for Industrial IoT Real-Time Location System Platform
    Read more
  • Industrial IoT Solutions for SMART Factory, Warehouse and DIGITAL Supply Chain
    Read more
  • INTRALYTICS – Real-Time Location Analytics for the right decisions
    Read more

You want to know how you can make your processes more efficient with real-time tracking?

Our team is happy to advise you with comprehensive know-how from the RTLS world!

INTRANAV IoT Suite – Connectivity Technologies

Industrie 4.0 Netztechnologie für die Multi-Stack INTRANAV IoT Plattform Suite

Digital Twins mit dem passenden Netztechnologie-Standard für industrielles IoT ausstatten

Unsere Real-Time Location IoT Anwendungen sind hoch skalierbar, um Ihre unterschiedlichen Anforderungen zu erfüllen – Entsprechend bedarf es zuverlässigen Netztechnologien, welche Tracking in kritischen Ortungsbereichen ermöglichen, als auch für Anwendungen, bei denen nur eine geringe Distanz ausreicht. In Outdoor Bereichen wie Yard, Field, City oder abgelegenen Bereichen ohne Stromanschluss, benötigt es einer Technik, die wiederum über große Entfernungen flächendeckende Netzabdeckung garantiert und gleichzeitig batteriebetrieben ist. INTRANAV verwendet für jede Echtzeitortungs-Anwendung die passende Netztechnologie.


Industrielle IoT Netztechnologien
für den INTRANAV.IO Sensor & RTLS Device Hub


Large-Scale Connectivity Netze
im Performance Check

Skalierbare IIoT Netztechnologie
für flächendeckende RTLS Rollouts

Die von uns aufgeführten Konnektivitäts-Technologien sind aktueller Standard im industriellen Track and Trace. Jede dieser Konnektivitäts-Technologien lässt sich in den INTRANAV.IO Sensor & INTRANAV.RTLS Device Hub integrieren.

4G

  • 4G steht für den Mobilfunkstandard der vierten Generation, der 2014 mit LTE Advanced eingeführt wurde und auf den man sich international mit verschiedenen Kriterien geeinigt hat. 4G ist dabei ein Platzhalter für „International Mobile Telecommunications-Advanced“.
  • LTE/LTE-A (Long Term Evolution – Advanced) ist eine durch die ITU/ITU-R anerkannte Technologie „der vierten Generation“ (4G) (Bei der ITU wurden zwei Technologien für die vierte Mobilfunkgeneration anerkannt, LTE-A und Wimax-A, siehe Empfehlung ITU-R M-2012). LTE/LTE-A arbeitet nach dem OFDM-Verfahren (OFDM), dadurch bietet der Standard eine große Flexibilität und ist sehr leistungsfähig.
  • Source: hwww.bundesnetzagentur.de
Mehr erfahren

5G

  • Der 5G-Standard verspricht mehr Durchsatz, Kapazität und gleichzeitig sinkende Betriebskosten.
  • „Massive Internet of Things“: u.a. hohe Anzahl von Endgeräten (z.B. mit Sensoren) bei möglichst geringer Komplexität.
  • Wesentliche Fortschritte soll es auch bei den Latenzzeiten geben, für die unter bestimmten Bedingungen ein Wert von 1ms (End-to-End) erreicht werden könnte (wichtig für zeitkritische Anwendungen). Weitere Aspekte beinhalten z.B. eine verbesserte Energieeffizienz oder eine höhere Anzahl an Endgeräten/km².
  • Source: https://www.bundesnetzagentur.de/
Mehr erfahren

LTE-M / LTE CAT-M

  • Long Term Evolution for Machines (LTE-M) ist eine neue Mobilfunktechnologie, die das Internet der Dinge zum Leben erweckt. LTE-M punktet vor allem genau da, wo etwas höherer Datendurchsatz und geringere Latenzzeiten gefragt sind.
  • LPWA (Low Power Wide Area) Übertragungstechnologien sind für viele IoT Anwendungen die logische Schlussfolgerung, insbesondere wenn Gebäudedurchdringung, Batterielebensdauer der IoT Geräte und vor allem Kosten eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Für solche IoT Anwendungen stehen grundsätzlich zwei standardisierte Mobilfunktechnologien zur Verfügung: NarrowBand IoT (NB-IoT) und LTE for Machine Type Communication (LTE-M).
  • Lange Akkulaufzeit, Verbesserte Gebäudedurchdringung, Niedrige Gerätekosten, breites Spektrum an Geräten, größere Daten-Volumina, Mobile Anwendungen.
  • Source: https://www.magenta.at
Mehr erfahren

NB-IoT

  • NarrowBand IoT (NB-IoT) ist als sogenannte Low-Power-Wide-Area-Technologie (LPWA) mit niedrigem Energiebedarf sowie hoher Gebäudedurchdringung und Reichweite eine kostengünstige Lösung für das schmalbandige Internet der Dinge. Die Funktechnologie NB-IoT zählt zu den vielversprechendsten Innovationen im Bereich der IoT-Kommunikation.
  • Für die meisten IoT Anwendungen im öffentlichen Bereich und im Verbrauchersektor reicht die niedrige Bandbreite vollkommen aus. NarrowBand-IoT überzeugt außerdem durch seine zuverlässige und optimale Abdeckung.
  • Geringe Kosten & minimaler Aufwand, 3GPP Industriestandard: 3rd Generation, Tiefe Gebäudedurchdringung, Lange Batterielaufzeit & Milliarden von Endgeräten
  • Smart Parking Lösungen, die überprüfen können, ob ein Parkplatz belegt ist und Fahrer zum nächstgelegenen verfügbaren Platz leiten, lassen sich besonders leicht mit NB-IoT realisieren. Aufgrund der hohen Anzahl vernetzter Sensoren, der niedrigen Kosten und der langen Batterielaufzeiten ist die Technik perfekt dafür geeignet.
  • Nicht immer werden Daten in Echtzeit benötigt. NB-IoT bietet sich so als kostengünstige Lösung für das Tracking von Containern an, bei dem eine stündliche Meldung des aktuellen Standorts genügt.
  • Source: https://www.magenta.at
Mehr erfahren

Sigfox

  • Sigfox ist der Initiator des 0G-Netzwerks und der weltweit führende IoT (Internet of Things) Serviceprovider. Das globale Netzwerk von Sigfox ermöglicht es, Milliarden von Geräten auf einfache Weise mit dem Internet zu verbinden und dabei so wenig Energie wie möglich zu verbrauchen.
  • Low Power für lange Batterielaufzeiten
  • Low Cost für den Masseneinsatz
  • Source: https://sigfox.de/
Mehr erfahren

LoRa

  • LoRa ist ein leitungsloses Übertragungsverfahren auf der Bitübertragungsschicht. Es ist asymmetrisch und auf Energieeffizienz für Reichweiten über 10 km für die Uplink-Kommunikation (also das Senden vom Endgerät an das Netz) ausgerichtet.
  • Die LoRaWAN®-Spezifikation ist ein Low Power, Wide Area (LPWA) Netzwerkprotokoll, das entwickelt wurde, um batteriebetriebene „Dinge“ drahtlos mit dem Internet in regionalen, nationalen oder globalen Netzwerken zu verbinden, und zielt auf wichtige Anforderungen des Internets der Dinge (IoT) ab, wie z. B. bidirektionale Kommunikation, End-to-End-Sicherheit, Mobilität und Lokalisierungsdienste.
  • IoT Applicationen: Landwirtschaft, Gebäude, Städte, Industrie, Logistik und Versorgungseinrichtungen.
  • Source: https://lora-alliance.org und https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_Range_Wide_Area_Network
Mehr erfahren

WiFi

  • Ein Funk-Netzwerk nach dem IEEE-802.11-Standard, das zu anderen WiFi-Geräten kompatibel ist.
  • Source: https://www.wi-fi.org/
Mehr erfahren

3G*

*Dient derzeit nur noch als Backup, Abschaltung voraussichtlich 2025.

  • Das Universal Mobile Telecommunications System (UMTS) ist ein Mobilfunkstandard der dritten Generation (3G), mit dem deutlich höhere Datenübertragungsraten (bis zu 42 Mbit/s mit HSPA+, sonst max. 384 kbit/s) als mit dem Mobilfunkstandard der zweiten Generation (2G), dem GSM-Standard (bis zu 220 kbit/s bei EDGE, sonst max. 55 kbit/s bei GPRS), möglich sind.
  • Source: www.wikipedia.org
Mehr erfahren

2G*

*Dient derzeit nur noch als Backup, Abschaltung voraussichtlich 2025.

  • Die GSM-Netze nutzen ein digitales Übertragungsverfahren. Digital bedeutet, dass das Ortungssignal – ähnlich wie beim Computer – in eine logische Folge von Zahlen (Nullen und Einsen) umgewandelt wird.
  • Die aus der digitalen Ortungsumwandlung hervorgegangenen Signale werden in eine hochfrequente elektromagnetische Welle „verpackt“, die als Transportmedium von Antenne zu Antenne dient.
  • Source: www.informationszentrum-mobilfunk.de
Mehr erfahren

LTE-M ist Spitzenreiter, wenn es um hohen Datendurchsatz und geringere Latenzzeiten geht



Aktuelle Connectivity Technology News:

Wired
Smart Industry
The IoT Magazine
Informationszentrum Mobilfunk: Aktuelles aus dem Bereich Technik





INTRANAV.IO Multi-technolgy Stack Plattform: ONE Interface & ONE Service:

Verwenden Sie die INTRANAV.RTLS Suite oder das OPEN IO DEVICE Interface für die Integration von Drittanbietern, um Echtzeit-Ortungs- und Sensordaten aus verschiedenen Technologien zu erfassen:

• UWB, GPS, RFID, BLE, xMesh, LiDAR, LoRa, sigfox

 

INTRANAV.API-Schnittstelle für Standards und Anwendungen:

• OPC-UA /AutoID, MQTT, REST, IDOC, GraphQL, Node-Red, Omlox, VDA5050, ISO/IEC 24730-1:2014, IP-Symcon, SPS, Telematik, Wirepas xMesh

Jetzt mit der Digitalisierung Ihrer Supply Chain starten!

  • Digital Twin für die industrielle IoT Real-Time Location System Plattform
    Mehr erfahren
  • Industrielle IoT Lösungen für SMART Factory, Warehouse und DIGITAL Supply Chain
    Mehr erfahren
  • INTRALYTICS – Real-Time Location Analytics für die richtigen Entscheidungen
    Mehr erfahren

Sie wollen wissen, wie Sie mit Echtzeitortung Ihre Prozesse effizienter gestalten können?

Unser Team berät Sie gerne mit umfassendem Know-how aus der RTLS Welt!